nepca

Home » NEPCA Area Chairs

NEPCA Area Chairs

NEPCA area chairs help the organization assemble its annual conference by helping the program chair determine the worthiness of paper submissions. They also help submitters fashion their proposals. NOTE: All the emails links should be live.

All areas highlighted in RED can be clicked and will take you to a link with further explanation of that area.

 NEPCA AREA CHAIRS: 2016-17

American Literature and Fiction: Mark Madigan, Nazareth College, mjmadiga@naz.edu

Celebrity and Entertainment: Andrea McClanahan, East Stroudsburg State Universityamcclanahan@esu.edu  

Celtic Studies: Tim Madigan, St. John Fisher College, tmadigan@sjfc.edu

Comics and Graphic Novels: Zack Kruse, zackkruse@gmail.com 

Dance: Virginia Cowen, Rutgers University, cowenvs@shrp.rutgers.edu

Digital Media and Gaming CultureJeff Cain, Sacred Heart University, cainj@sacredheart.edu 

Ethnic and Race Studies: TBA

The Fantastic (Fantasy, Horror, and Science Fiction): Michael Torregrossa, cfp.nepcafantastic@gmail.com

Fashion and Body Image: Gloria Monaghan, Wentworth Institute, monaghang@wit.edu

Film & History: Carol Mitchell, Springfield College,  cmitchel@springfieldcollege.edu

Folklore and Folk Tales: TBA

Food, Foodways and Culture: Ann Kordas, Johnson & Wales University, akordas@jwu.edu 

Gender, Identity, Sex and Sexuality: Don Gagnon, Western Connecticut State University, gagnond@wcsu.edu

Global Cultures: Frank A. Salamone, Iona College, fsalamone@iona.edu

Health, Disease and Popular Culture: Jennifer Tebbe-Grossman, Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences University, jennifer.tebbe@mcphs.edu

History and Uses of the Past: James P. Hanlan, Worcester Polytechnic Institute,  jphanlan@wpi.edu 

Horror: See The Fantastic (above)

Humor:    TBA

Labor Studies: Bruce Cohen, Worcester State College, bcohen@worcester.edu

Libraries, Archives, Collecting & Publishing: Julie DeCesare, Providence College, jdecesa1@providence.edu  

Marketing and Advertising: Rick Magee, Sacred Heart University, mageer@sacredheart.edu

Music: Cory Matieyshen, Independent Scholar, cmatieyshen@gmail.com

Musical Theater and  Films: Don Gagnon, Western CT State University, gagnond@wcsu.edu

Northeast Studies/Travel and Tourism: Rob Weir, University of Massachusetts Amherst, weir.r@comcast.net 

Philosophy and Popular Culture: Anthony Cirilla, Niagara University, acirilla@niagara.edu

Politics, Civic Life and Popular Culture: Robert Hackey, Providence College, rhackey@providence.edu

Psychology and Popular Culture: Michelle Ronayne,  michelle.ronayne@chs-pc.com

Religion: June-Ann Greeley, Sacred Heart University, greeleyj@sacredheart.edu

Romance/Popular Romance Fiction: Wendy Wagner, Johnson & Wales, Wendy.Wagner@jwu.edu 

Science and Technology: Todd Olszewski, Providence College, tolszews@providence.edu

Sports: Dennis Gildea, Springfield College, dgildea@springfieldcollege.edu 

Storytelling: Constructing Oral and Written Narratives: Adam Crowley, Husson College, crowleya@husson.edu

Teaching and Popular Culture: Lance Eatonlance.eaton@gmail.com

Television: Kathleen Collins, John Jay College, kcollins@jjay.cuny.edu

Urban Studies: Lois Ascher, Wentworth Institute, ascherl@wit.edu

War, Peace and Culture: Mark Van Ells, mvanells@qcc.cuny.edu

World Literature: Susan Gorman,Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences University, susan.gorman@mcphs.edu

None of the Above: Robert Niemi, St. Michael’s College, rniemi@smcvt.edu


7 Comments

  1. Slow Blink says:

    Is it okay to submit to more than one chair if the topic crosses topics.

  2. Frank Salamone says:

    Global Cultures: Frank A. Salamone, Iona College, fsalamone@iona.edu

    Call for Papers for the NEPCA annual meeting at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst.NEPCA will hold its 2017 fall conference at the University of Massachusetts Amherst the weekend of October 27-28, 2017. The conference will be held at the Campus Center overlooking the pond in the middle of the UMass campus. Lodging will be available in the Campus Center Hotel, which is in the same building

    Please, send proposals for panels or abstract to me at the address given, fsalamone@iona.edu. Papers of any topic dealing with popular culture in a global aspect are welcome. I interpret the term quite broadly – music, dance, literature, art and philosophy, for example. Abstracts should give your contact details and affiliation. 50 to 100 words of description should suffice. Student abstracts are welcome.

  3. katelaity says:

    Should submissions on crime/mystery fiction just go to None of the Above?

    • robnepca says:

      Depending on the focus, I’d say either American Literature (if a US author), World Literature (non-US writer), or Storytelling is you focus is on narrative development/structure.

  4. Allison says:

    Can you submit more than one topic for consideration if they are in different areas?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: