Awards from NEPCA

NEPCA awards two prizes annually, an award for the best new book, and an award for the best paper delivered by a graduate student at our annual conference. Details are below.  We encourage members to join these committees.  If you are a NEPCA member, please email to find out how to get onto one of the selection committees.

Peter C. Rollins Book Prize

The annual NEPCA Book Prize is named for Peter C. Rollins, a renowned scholar in the fields of American and popular culture and a longtime NEPCA benefactor. It honors a work that a special book prize committee feels made a valuable contribution to the discipline in the previous calendar year. The winner receives a cash prize of $500 and a certificate of merit, which will be awarded at NEPCA’s annual conference.

Nominations are now open for books published in 2020.  The prize will be awarded at NEPCA’s conference at the October 2021 conference. The deadline for submission is July 1, 2021. 

For more information and submission instructions, please read the eligibility requirements below. You should also contact our book award committee chair to make a submission:

Katherine Allocco (
Department of History
Western Connecticut State University
181 White St.  Danbury, CT 06810

Other members of the Rollins Prize committee are:

 What are the eligibility requirements?

  1. The book must be an original work that draws upon primary sources.
  2. The work must be scholarly in tone.
  3. The book must be a thesis-driven monograph.
  4. Ideally the work should appeal to the broad community of popular culture and/or American studies scholarship.
  5. The author must be an individual that lives in New England or New York, or has resided there within the past three years.
  6. The book must have been published in the calendar year prior to the conference. For instance, the 2018 NEPCA conference honored a book published in 2017.
  7. The book should be submitted before July 1, 2020. Please contact the committee chair (contact info below) for how to submit an entry.
  8. The book (or an ebook) should be sent to each of the four members of the committee.

 What books are ineligible?

  1. Collected essays and edited collections
  2. Works of fiction and poetry
  3. Reference works and textbooks
  4. New editions of previously published work
  5. Opinion-based essays and/or editorials
  6. Most non research-based works

 What is the nomination process?

  1. Nominations must be made directly by the publisher. Individuals wishing their work to be considered must ask their publishers to contact NEPCA.
  2. Each publisher is permitted to two nominations per calendar year.
  3. Physical copies or e-books must be sent to each member of the prize committee and must be received before July 1, 2021. Contact Katherine Allocco ( for details.

Previous prize winners are found on this page.

Still have questions?

Contact Katherine Allocco (

Graduate Student Paper Prize

NEPCA honors new scholars in the field by granting an annual prize to the graduate student that delivered the best paper at the previous year’s conference. The winner receives a certificate of achievement and a cash award.

Who is eligible?

The competition is open to any individual that has not completed his or her graduate degree at the time they deliver their paper, including those that hold ABD (or MA thesis) status.

How many prizes are offered?

As of 2014, NEPCA offers two prizes each year, the Amos St. Germain Prize and the Carol Mitchell Prize. These prizes are named in honor of two of our colleagues who have been longtime supporters of popular culture studies, NEPCA, and graduate student research.

 What is the nomination process?

Only the session chair in which the paper is delivered can nominate papers. Individuals may request that individual to nominate their paper, but it is the chair’s discretion to do so or not.

  1. Once a paper has been nominated, the paper prize committee chair will contact nominees. The chair will request that copies of the paper be forwarded by a timely date. Those who do not submit by the date will be removed from the pool.
  2. Nominated papers will be sent to a committee for reading and evaluation. The committee will select the winning paper during the summer months.
  3. The winner will be contacted by the prize committee chair and will be invited to attend the fall conference (fees waived) to accept the prize. If the winner cannot attend, the prize will be mailed.

IMPORTANT: If your paper is nominated, it is your responsibility to alert the prize committee chair of any change of address or other contact information.  NEPCA can’t honor you if it can’t find you!

The prize committee will be chaired by Andrea McClanahan, Ph.D. (East Stroudsburg State University ). The other members of the committee are:

  • Robert Hackey, Ph.D. (Providence College)
  • Carolyn Fortuna, Ph.D. (Rhode Island College)
  • Carol Mitchell, Ph.D. (Springfield College, emerita)
  • Adam Crowley, Ph.D. (Husson University)

All questions should be directed to Andrea McClanahan.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.