2016 Dixon Ryan Fox Manuscript Prize – Call for Submissions

The Dixon Ryan Fox Prize is presented each year to the best unpublished, book-length monograph dealing with some aspect of the history of New York State. The New York State Historical Association named the award for its former president Dixon Ryan Fox in 1997 to recognize his contributions to New York state history. The prize consists … Continue reading 2016 Dixon Ryan Fox Manuscript Prize – Call for Submissions

2016 OAH Roy Rosenzweig Distinguished Service Award

NOMINATION DEADLINE: OCTOBER 1, 2015 The OAH Roy Rosenzweig Distinguished Service Award is presented each year to an individual or individuals whose contributions have significantly enriched our understanding and appreciation of American history. Beginning in 2008, the award is named in memory of Roy Rosenzweig, who was the Mark and Barbara Fried Chair and founding … Continue reading 2016 OAH Roy Rosenzweig Distinguished Service Award

Ann Axtmann Book Award Statement

The winner of the Peter C. Rollins Prize for the best book on popular or American culture published in 2013 is: Ann Axtmann for her work Indians and Wannabes, which was nominated by the University of Florida Press. Ann could not attend this year's conference, but she sent this very gracious thank you, which was … Continue reading Ann Axtmann Book Award Statement

Ann Axtmann Wins NEPCA Book Prize

Indians and Wannabes: Native American Powwow Dancing in the Northeast and Beyond, by Ann M. Axtmann, Gainesville, FL: University of Florida Press, 2013. Note: This book won NEPCA's 2013 Peter Rollins Prize as the best book on a popular/American culture subject.  In Ann M. Axtmann’s first published book, she explores Native American powwows, specifically in … Continue reading Ann Axtmann Wins NEPCA Book Prize

LAWCHA Labor History Award

The Organization of American Historians and the Labor and Working-Class History Association is currently seeking submissions for the 2015 David Montgomery Book Award recognizing the best book on a topic in American labor and working-class history. This award is given in recognition of David Montgomery's incalculable impact on the historical study of workers' lives, aspirations and struggles … Continue reading LAWCHA Labor History Award

Lisa Silvestri Wins Graduate Student Prize

NEPCA is pleased to announce that Lisa Silvestri of the University of Iowa  has won the 2013 Graduate Student Paper Prize for "Social Media at War: Shining Happy People Holding Guns," a work she delivered in October at NEPCA's 2013 conference at St.Michael's College in Vermont. A cash prize is on its way to Ms. Silvestri and a certificate … Continue reading Lisa Silvestri Wins Graduate Student Prize

Sports Literature Graduate Student Paper Prize

The Sport Literature Association announces its annual Lyle Olsen Graduate Student Essay Contest 2014. Essays must pertain in some way to the literature of sport as noted in the association's journal, Aethlon.  All submissions must be unpublished work. Original creative pieces, both fiction and non-fiction are not considered.  There is no word limit, but Aethlon articles do not generally exceed 25 … Continue reading Sports Literature Graduate Student Paper Prize

Military History Prize

The Society for Military History First Manuscript Prize is awarded annually to an author who has not previously published a scholarly book-length manuscript. The competition is open to scholars whose work blends military history with social, political, economic, and diplomatic history and to authors of studies centering on campaigns, leaders, technology, and doctrine. The winning … Continue reading Military History Prize

NEPCA Graduate Prize Winner!

The NEPCA Graduate Student Paper Prize Committee--Andrea McClanahan ( East Stroudsburg University), Bruce Cohen (Worcester State University), Margaret Wiley (Colby-Sawyer College), Carol Mitchell (Springfield College), and Amos St. Germain, Chair (Wentworth Institute of Technology) are pleased to announce the winner for the annual graduate student paper prize. This award is given each year for the … Continue reading NEPCA Graduate Prize Winner!