Berkshire Book Prize Nominations Open

Now Accepting Nominations for the Berkshire Conference of Women Historians’ Book Prizes Deadline for Nominations: November 1, 2018 To nominate a book, see:   Description of Prizes We invite publishers and authors to submit books published in the year 2018 for consideration for the Berkshire Conference Book Prizes. The Berkshire Conference of Women Historians annually … Continue reading Berkshire Book Prize Nominations Open

Dissertation Prize

George E. Pozzetta Dissertation AwardEach year the Immigration and Ethnic History Society awards the George E. Pozzetta Dissertation Award. For the 2019 award, it will invite applications from any Ph.D. candidate who will have completed qualifying exams by 2018, and whose thesis focuses on American immigration, emigration, or ethnic history. The award provides two grants of $1000 … Continue reading Dissertation Prize

Documentary Film Award Last Call

PETER ROLLINS DOCUMENTARY FILM AWARD Awarded by the National Popular Culture/American Culture Association Deadline:  December 15, 2017 This is a final call for film submissions for the 2017 Peter C. Rollins Documentary Film Award.  Both short and feature-length films are eligible for consideration.  Films must be 2017 productions, and must not have received commercial release. Please … Continue reading Documentary Film Award Last Call

Brigman Award

The William Brigman TJPC Award. This award is for graduate students who write an article for consideration by The Journal of Popular Culture and who also plan to present a version of their article at the National Popular Culture Association Conference. The award-winning essay will receive automatic publication in the TJPC (identified in the journal as the winner of The William Brigman … Continue reading Brigman Award

Sports History Book Prize Competition

The North American Society for Sport History (NASSH) presents two book awards each year to promote and honor outstanding research and writing in the field of sport history. Awards are given for distinguished books written in English on any aspect of sport history, without chronological or geographic restriction. The NASSH Book Award Committee is currently … Continue reading Sports History Book Prize Competition

Grace Abbott Book Prize

Call for Nominations: 2016 Grace Abbott Book Prize The Society for the History of Children and Youth (SHCY) is pleased to call for nominations for the best book in English on the history of children, childhood, or youth (broadly construed) published in 2015. The award of a plaque and a check for $500 will be made … Continue reading Grace Abbott Book Prize

AHA Awards

The American Historical Association recognizes a wide variety of distinguished historical work, which can take the form of an exceptional book in the field, distinguished teaching and mentoring in the classroom, and even on film. Nominations are due May 15. The Association particularly seeks nominations for Awards for Scholarly and Professional Distinction, including K-12 and … Continue reading AHA Awards

M. E. Bradford Dissertation Prize

The St. George Tucker Society, an interdisciplinary scholarly organization dedicated to the study of the American South, is proud to announce its annual M. E. Bradford Dissertation Prize. The award recognizes the best dissertation focused on the South, any time period and any discipline. The prize carries a $1,000 award and an expense-paid trip to discuss the project … Continue reading M. E. Bradford Dissertation Prize

Research Society for American Periodicals $1000 Article Prize

The Research Society for American Periodicals announces the $1000 article prize for 2016. The prize will be awarded to the best article on American periodicals by an early-career scholar – that is, one who is pre-tenure, non-tenure, or independent, within five years of degree conferral – published in a peer-reviewed academic journal between January 1, … Continue reading Research Society for American Periodicals $1000 Article Prize