CCWH Book Prize

The CCWH Book Prize in Women’s and Gender History is awarded every two years to the best book published in the field in the previous two years, in either English or French.

Books in Canadian history are eligible for the prize.  Books in other national fields are also eligible for the prize, provided that their authors live and work in Canada.

Anthologies, edited collections and translated works are not eligible for the prize.

There must be at least five books nominated for the prize to be awarded.

The jury for the prize consists of three scholars who have published in the field of women’s and/or gender history and who are able to read fluently in both English and French.

The prize, to be awarded at the Congress of the Canadian Historical Association in May, will go to a book published in 2014 or 2015.  Submissions for the prize must be received by 14 February 2016.  Authors can self-nominate.  Authors or publishers should send a copy of each submission to each of the three jury members, namely:

Karine Hébert


Département des lettres et humanités

Université du Québec à Rimouski

300, allée des Ursulines

Rimouski (Québec) Canada

G5L 3A1


Lara Campbell

Department of Gender, Sexuality, and Women’s Studies Simon Fraser University

8888 University Drive

Burnaby BC V5A 1S6


Andrea Eidenger

Kwantlen Polytechnic University

106-8400 Ackroyd Road

Richmond, BC


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.